Pineapple Mint Granita

IMG_2715

It’s probably a good thing I don’t own an ice cream maker. I would experiment all the time. I tried to make a simple sorbet in my Cuisinart food processor, but it ended up being more like a granita. Satisfying nonetheless.

After shredding 1/2c of fresh mint leaves, I added frozen pineapple and pineapple juice until it looked like the right consistency. I froze it and took it out every few hours to stir so it wouldn’t become a solid block. But it still sort of did, anyway. After it was frozen it went back into the food processor and then back into the freezer for good. (An old Talenti gelato container was the perfect size for storage).

It was probably for the best that it had a granita, not sorbet, consistency, as it slowed down my consumption speed. I look forward to playing around with other fruits and herbs to see what works.

Standard

What do you think?

