Apple Spice Granola

Now that we’re all caught up to present-day, here is a recipe with steps!

Image

Breakfast these days consists of eggs, a protein shake, or a smoothie. If I’m eating yogurt I always need something with texture to offset its creamy feeling. Enter, granola! I stumbled across a paleo recipe that uses nuts and seeds instead of oats, which I thought sounded great.

I left out pecans since I did not have them.

Image

Mix all the dry ingredients in the food processor til combined and in small pieces.

I realized mid-way through that I didn’t have the applesauce it called for. Thankfully we did have a few Gala apples in the fridge. I chopped one up roughly and put in a saucepan with a little water, lemon juice, and cinnamon, and let it cook til soft.

Image

I tried turning the apple in to sauce with my hand mixer but it didn’t do anything. It worked beautifully in the food processor, though. (Yes, there was some transferring back and forth of ingredients in this step).

Image

After combining the wet ingredients in a separate bowl, I added them to the nuts in the food processor. At this point, you blend them til they’re combined, but not til they turn into a puree.

Image

I ate a few spoonfuls plain at this point. It was still warm from the fresh applesauce and I was imagining it scooped directly on top of some vanilla bean ice cream for dessert. Since I didn’t have any ice cream, I continued making it into granola. I followed the baking directions on the recipe, but if I did it again I would have lowered the heat and left it in for longer. My granola was starting to burn on the bottom and never became really crunchy, even after cooling overnight. Nonetheless, it has a great spicy, sweet flavor and was just what I wanted on my breakfast.

Standard

What do you think?

