Spinach-Crust Pizza

IMG_2761

 

My brother and I gave blood today. Despite it being a 2.5hr ordeal and me almost fainting toward the end, we escaped mostly unscathed. Like a good patient, I tried to get my iron levels back up with a spinach-crust pizza. I  used this recipe as a guide, but adjusted it this time. I was curious to see how kale would change the texture.

3 big handfuls of fresh spinach

2 big handfuls of fresh kale

2 eggs

1c shredded mozzarella cheese

salt and pepper

Blend greens in food processor, add eggs, add cheese and spices. (As mine looked a little wet, I blended 1/4c cashews with the mixture. You could add more cheese.)

 

IMG_2742

 

Spread on baking sheet and bake at 425 for about 15 min, or until it looks dry and starts to brown a bit on the edges.

 

IMG_2759

 

Add your preferred toppings and broil or bake at 350 til the cheese is done. I used a thin spreading of pesto, sundried tomatoes, artichoke hearts, and a mild goat’s cheese.

 

IMG_2760

 

Side note: blood-giving makes one weak, especially when one is already pretty scrawny. I had to take my unopened jar of artichoke hearts to the poor neighbor boy who was clearly napping…

Wait, is that terrible song ‘Jar of Hearts’ just about a girl who likes artichokes??

Anyway, this go-round was definitely a success. The crust wasn’t soggy like last time and had a nice crunch, which I completely attribute to the kale. The great thing about pizza is that you can always change up the toppings so it’s like a brand new recipe every time!

 

IMG_2762

Standard

3 thoughts on “Spinach-Crust Pizza

What do you think?

