Parmesan and Pesto Tilapia with Quinoa and Kale

Sadly, this post has no photos. I was a little overzealous in tidying up my phone, so the pictures got deleted. You’ll just have to make this yourself to see what it looks like!

 

I don’t have much experience cooking fish. The one time in college I baked a salmon filet, I left it on the counter all night and couldn’t eat it the next day.

When I joined Sam’s Club last weekend, I picked up a bag of tilapia filets, and I’m excited to have found some yummy ways to cook it. Dinner was inspired by this basic recipe.

4 4oz tilapia filets, frozen

4T basil pesto

3T grated parmesan cheese

Lemon juice, salt and pepper (optional)

Arrange filets on foil or parchment on a baking sheet and sprinkle with cheese and pesto. Shake lemon juice and spices on top, if desired. Bake at 425 for 20 minutes, or til fish is flaky.

In the meantime, cook 1c quinoa on the stove, and saute 2 large handfuls of kale in olive oil. Kale takes a while to get soft like this. You may want to begin cooking it before the fish.

When the fish is done, you could certainly top with diced tomatoes or more cheese, but mine was delicious right out of the oven. I liked the saltiness of the cheese with the fish without it being overpowering.

Check back soon for more ways to cook tilapia! (With photos, I promise!)

Standard

What do you think?

